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Why is the Board of Equalization performing 
inspections?
The Board of Equalization (BOE) is performing routine 
inspections statewide to increase compliance with cigarette 
and tobacco licensing requirements and reduce cigarette and 
tobacco tax evasion.

What is BOE looking for?
The BOE is looking to verify that cigarettes in your inventory 
have valid California tax stamps attached to them and the 
cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco products are listed on the 
California Attorney General’s Tobacco Directory (Directory). 
Purchase and sales documentation to support your current 
inventory is also reviewed.

What is the law?
The law states that no person may attach any tax stamp to a 
package of cigarettes or pay the tobacco products tax on  
roll-your-own tobacco if the cigarettes or tobacco product man-
ufacturer and brand family are not included in the Directory. 
In addition, no person may sell, offer, or possess for sale in this 
state, or import for personal consumption in this state, ciga-
rettes or roll-your-own tobacco products if the manufacturer 
and brand family are not included in the Directory. For tax-paid 
cigarettes that are subsequently removed from the Directory,  
the law allows retailers sixty (60) days and wholesalers forty  
(40) days to possess, transport, and sell their inventory of
tax-stamped cigarettes and roll-your-own tobacco products from
the effective date of the removal. (The Directory can be viewed
at www.oag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory. The statute can be found
in Revenue and Taxation Code section 30165.1.)

www.oag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory
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What happens if BOE inspectors find 
products that I can’t legally sell?
The inspectors will seize any untaxed, counterfeit, or illegal 
cigarette and/or tobacco products they find. They may also 
issue you a citation.

What should I do if my tax-paid cigarettes 
and roll-your-own tobacco products are 
removed from the Directory?
As a retailer you have 60 days, or 40 days for wholesalers, 
to sell off and/or transport your tax-stamped cigarettes or 
roll-your-own tobacco products. You may also contact the 
licensed distributor/wholesaler who sold the merchandise 
to you and negotiate a credit for returning the products 
removed from the Directory.

If you need assistance contacting your distributor or whole-
saler to return these products, please let us know.

Notification of removal by Attorney General, 
distributor and/or wholesaler.
If you provided an electronic mail address to the California 
Attorney General for this purpose, you will be notified by that 
office upon removal of any cigarettes and/or roll-your-own 
tobacco products from the Directory. No later than seven 
(7) days after issuance of the Attorney General’s notice of 
removal, a distributor or wholesaler must provide each of its 
existing customers a copy of the notice of removal.

After the 60-day sell-off period for retailers, or 40 days 
for wholesalers, the tax-paid cigarettes and roll-your-own 
tobacco products are considered contraband and subject 
to seizure and destruction under subdivision (e) of section 
30436 and subdivision (b) of section 30449 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code.

Where can I get more information?
If you have questions or concerns, please

• Contact the Investigations Division at 916-324-0105

• Write to: Investigations Division, MIC:42
Board of Equalization; PO Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279-0042

• Go online: www.boe.ca.gov or www.oag.ca.gov

www.boe.ca.gov
www.oag.ca.gov



