S

N

Special Notice

CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD
OF EQUALIZATION

450 N STREET
SACRAMENTO, CA 95814

BOARD MEMBERS

SEN. GEORGE RUNNER (ReT.)
First District
Lancaster

FIONA MA, CPA
Second District
San Francisco

JEROME E. HORTON
Third District
Los Angeles County

DIANE L. HARKEY
Fourth District
Orange County

BETTY T. YEE
State Controller

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
DAVID J. GAU

BOE WEBSITE AND

BOARD MEMBER CONTACT
INFORMATION
www.boe.ca.gov

CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER
1-800-400-7115

TTY
711

BOE-863-B (FRONT) REV. 9 (1-15)

NOTICE TO INTERNATIONAL FUEL TAX
AGREEMENT (IFTA) CARRIERS

You must be in possession of valid IFTA credentials (license and decals)

or a properly completed California Fuel Trip Permit when entering or
re-entering California. Failure to comply may result in the assessment of a
penalty. The penalty may be calculated in one of two ways. First, if the Board
of Equalization (BOE) determines an amount of tax due, the tax plus the
greater of 25 percent of the tax, or $500, will be imposed. Secondly, where the
BOE does not determine an amount of tax due, the penalty is $100. For each
subsequent violation, $100 will be added to the amount of the previous penalty
until a maximum penalty of $500 is reached. The penalty is in addition to the
purchase of a California Fuel Trip Permit, which costs $30.

IFTA credentials are valid until December 31 of the year they were issued,
unless the credentials have been revoked, canceled, or suspended by the
carrier’s base jurisdiction. For carriers in good standing with their base
jurisdiction (all reports are filed, all amounts due are paid, and a timely
renewal is filed and paid), a two-month grace period is granted to display the
current year decals. For example, carriers in good standing have until the end
of February to display the current year decals. Carriers entering California

on March 1 without displaying the current decals (or being in possession of a
properly completed California Fuel Trip Permit) will be assessed the penalties
as described above.

We encourage all carriers to keep their accounts in good standing, to renew
their IFTA licenses timely, and to display the current year decals by the end
of February. Many IFTA jurisdictions, including California, increase IFTA
enforcement beginning March 1 of each year. Don’t wait. Make sure you have
the proper credentials for your vehicles.

If you have any questions, please contact the Motor Carrier Office at
1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711); from the main menu, select the option “Special
Taxes and Fees” and the “IFTA, International Fuel Tax Agreement.” Customer
service representatives are available weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
(Pacific time), except state holidays.

Special Taxes and Fees

Motor Carrier Office
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That is last year’s IFTA decal and the
grace period is over. If you

don’t have the current year credentials
it’s at least a $100.00 penalty and a
$30.00 Fuel Trip Permit.

CARRIERS—DON"T MAKE THIS
MISTAKE IN MARCH 2015

MAKE SURE YOU HAVE YOUR
2015 IFTA LICENSE AND DECALS.

READ THE FRONT SIDE OF THIS NOTICE FOR MORE INFORMATION.
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